A tale of two retail experiences

A few weeks ago, an Ulta store opened in my little town, so when I got paid this week, I decided to check it out. As soon as I walked inside, a sales associate greeted me and asked if I needed help. I said I wanted to browse on my own for a bit. As I continued to the back of the store, I was approached twice more by employees who welcomed me and offered assistance. It was almost obnoxious, but I also was glad to know that people were available to answer if I had questions.

Sure enough, I quickly became overwhelmed by all the options and decided that I did indeed want help. I immediately was able to find one of the women who had spoken to me. She was stocking a shelf but stopped her work, listened to what I wanted, and walked me to another part of the store, where she introduced me to a colleague who she said would help me.

This colleague was wonderful. She was sweet, seemed very genuine, and basically played tour guide for the rest of my visit, helping me find products that I liked and that fit my budget. She didn’t pressure me to buy anything and even made a few suggestions for less expensive brands that she said she uses herself in lieu of pricier options. I ended up spending more than I would have if I’d felt like I was being bulldozed or manipulated, and more importantly, I walked out of the store with a big grin, feeling fantastic about myself and the experience. I will absolutely visit Ulta again.

Today I went to a small, locally owned shop that I had visited once before. On that visit, the owner was sitting behind the cash register. When I asked about a product, he didn’t even get up, although I was the only customer in the shop and he had been staring at the wall when I walked in. He just pointed and then verbally directed me as I navigated the store. Today, I decided that I wasn’t going to ask for help; if the place wasn’t busy and the staff still didn’t bother to help, I’d just leave and buy my stuff elsewhere. I again was the only customer there. The owner again was sitting behind the cash register. Another employee was sweeping the floor. Neither of them greeted me, offered assistance, or even made eye contact. I spent ten very uncomfortable minutes trying to figure out how the place was organized and find the items on my short shopping list. At some point, the owner got up and went to the back part of the store. When I was ready to check out, I stood by the cash register. I could see both men, but they didn’t acknowledge me. If either of them had said, “We’ll be right with you,” it would have been fine. As it was, I felt so awkward and irritated that I decided that if they were going to keep ignoring me, I’d just leave. So I did. And I posted a negative review on their Facebook page. And the response was, “If you decide to come back and politely ask for help, we’ll be happy to ring up your purchases.” That kind of makes it all worse. I’m the only customer in the store, you can’t even be bothered to say “Hi,” and yet you make it incumbent on me to “politely ask” for basic customer service? You’re lucky that I didn’t impolitely tell you to go f— yourself.

I’m a reasonable person, and I’ve worked retail. If you’re busy and have to finish a task before you can help me, I understand. But not even acknowledging me? And then blaming me for your lack of service? Come on. I wanted to support a local business, but the reality is, I can drive 45 minutes to a chain store that has a better selection for less money — and employees who are cheerful and happy to help. You’ve just given me the perfect reason to take my business to the greedy corporation that’s pushing stores like you out of existence.

I hope you think about that next time someone walks into your store and you consider whether to greet or ignore them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment